If I Were a Rich Man

Does anybody remember this song from Fiddler on the Roof? In the song, Tevye expounds on all of the things he would do and have if he were wealthy, and then at the end of the song he asks the question of God, “Would it spoil some vast, eternal plan if I were a wealthy man?”.

I can certainly relate to Tevye. Too often I find myself wishing for and desiring more, or other, than I have. And because I do not have what I desire, I am discontent. This attitude can infect my entire life if I do not take action against it. If I let discontent have it’s way in my life, I will eventually find myself questioning God’s wisdom in what He has given me.

You see, in my discontent, I think that I deserve more or better than I have. I begin to believe that I should be more comfortable in my life. I actually begin to believe that it is mine, and I have a right to it.

Do you see the problem with my thinking here? I, me, mine! I am suffering from “I” disease. Everything revolves around me. I have forgotten that it all belongs to God.
The apostle Paul writes in Philippians 4:11-12:

“Not that I speak from want, for I have learned to be content in whatever circumstances I am. I know how to get along with humble means, and I also know how to live in prosperity; in any and every circumstance I have learned the secret of being filled and going hungry, both of having abundance and suffering need.”

Paul has learned that the key to contentment lies with acceptance. Acceptance that God is God, and that He has a plan. It is His plan, His way. Not mine. When I learn to give up my right to myself and let God have His way, I can learn to be content where I am.

So, to answer Tevye’s question, “Would it spoil some vast, eternal plan if I were a wealthy man?” Yes, it would. Can I learn to live with that answer? I hope so.

About tedgriffith

I'm a financial counselor/coach who loves photgraphy.
This entry was posted in General, Living Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to If I Were a Rich Man

  1. Mother Hen says:

    Yes, I sure do remember the movie..

  2. Debbie says:

    Ted, this is the third or fourth post on contentment I’ve read! Thank you for sharing and God bless!

  3. My Heartsong says:

    Great questions here. after the first paragraph i found myself asking if I would would be even more self-centred than I am now. Maybe more comes when we are happy with what we have now. Or when we are ready.

  4. This is a great thought-provoking post! It definitely makes you think why God has you where you are and how He wants you to respond to your circumstances. Thanks for sharing!

  5. mrsspike says:

    I watched this movie again recently and that same phrase from the song stood out to me too. Would it really mess things up if I had a lot of money? I’m with you. I think it would! I have just as much money as God intends for me to have. If I’m a good steward, maybe He will give me more. Maybe He won’t. Either way, I’m content and I feel blessed to have what I have.

Leave a Reply

