If you have a niche, scratch it!

I was talking to Heather today about how people who think of themselves as photographers all have a certain niche of photography that they pursue as their specialty. (While we were talking she popped out with the statement that I used as the title of this post!) I had been trying to define exactly what my niche was. This really helps when people ask what kind of photography I do. Some categories were too broad, such as fine art photography. I love to photograph flowers, but so much more than that. I enjoy landscape photography, but not to the same degree. I finally decide that I am a botanical photographer who also dabbles in other areas.

I think that it helps to define what your niche is. It often saves time, money and energy by helping me focus my limited resources on areas that are important to me. It also helps me to understand those areas that I don’t enjoy and don’t want to pursue. I don’t enjoy photographing people, so there is no point in studying to any great degree portrait, wedding or street photography.

So, do you have a niche? If so, scratch it!

Ranger, Texas

About tedgriffith

I'm a financial counselor/coach who loves photgraphy.
This entry was posted in Basics, Botanicals, Philosophy, Photography, Pictures and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to If you have a niche, scratch it!

  1. Debbie says:

    I really appreciated this Ted, and think it helps us with whatever we do, to think about what we really enjoy the most. Thanks and God bless you as you continue to photograph!

  2. Great post, fabulous shot!!! 😀 Hope your stint in Big Bend will be splendid through and through!
    xo

Leave a Reply

