Out of the Closet

Today was a difficult day. While working at the Castolon visitor center, a man came in asking about where he could see the K-T boundary in the rocks. This is a layer in the geologic column where it appears (to evolutionists) that all of the dinosaurs died. It is attributed by some to an impact from a meteor or asteroid (these are actually the same thing, just different names). There is nothing in the park literature except passing references to the K-T boundary, but no reference to where it cane be seen. I was attempting to find something for the gentleman online when Heather suggested that I look at the ICR (Institute for Creation Research) website since she knew that they had done studies on the subject. The man became very rude and aggressive in his response stating the those people were idiots and couldn’t be trusted. I told him that everyone was entitled to his or her opinion. I also told him that we (Heather and I) were creationists. He said that stuff was all a bunch of hokum and continued his tirade about creationist and their beliefs. He then left.

At work, I do not promote a creationist point of view or disagree with people when they talk about evolution, but I will no longer back down from what I believe. I am tired of hiding in the closet on this issue. It seems that if you believe in a young earth and a literal 6 day creation by God, then you are expected to take whatever insults and bad manners from those who disagree with your views, however if you state your views, you are accused of being bigoted, stupid and intolerant. I will try (with God’s help) to not return anger for anger, but I will not hide from the confrontation anymore. I believe in God, and that His Word, the Bible, is true and able to be trusted. I am a unique creation, made in God’s image, and not an accident of nature with no purpose.

People will disagree with me, and that is their right. Each person is able to make up their own mind and will be responsible for their decision. It is not up to me to persuade anyone of the truth. All I have to do is let the truth out and it will defend itself.

 

1 Corinthians 16:13

About tedgriffith

I'm a financial counselor/coach who loves photgraphy.
This entry was posted in Faith, General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Out of the Closet

  1. I’m sorry you had to encounter such an idiot! Keep standing tall and in faith as I know you will 🙂

  2. diggingher says:

    Stand firm. It is because we speak out that others hear the truth of the gospel. We are simply the messengers.

Leave a Reply

