What does it mean to be a Christian?

I have encountered many people in many places who, when asked, claim the name of being a Christian. After talking to some of these people, I realize that what I believe a Christian to be differs from what they believe. This causes me to ask, “What does it mean to be a Christian?”. I am a Christian, and have been for quite a number of years, but I had never really stopped to think out exactly what I mean by that. What follows is my attempt to clarify what being a Christian means to me.

I believe in the One, eternal, Triune God; Father, Son and Holy Spirit.
I believe in Almighty God the Father, Creator of heaven and earth.
I believe in Jesus Christ, His only begotten Son, our Lord. I believe He was conceived by the Holy Spirit,and born of the virgin Mary. I believe that He was tempted in all ways and lived a sinless life. Jesus suffered under Pontius Pilate, and was crucified, died and was buried. He descended into hell and, on the third day, He rose again from the dead. He ascended into heaven and sits at the right hand of God the Father, and He will come to judge the living and the dead. I believe that I am a sinner in need of a savior. Jesus died for my sins and, through His resurrection, it is possible for me to be saved from eternal damnation and punishment in hell. I believe that I am saved by grace alone, through faith alone in Jesus Christ alone. There is no other way for salvation.
I believe in the Holy Spirit, who has been sent by God the Father in Jesus’ name to help, instruct, and empower. He is the voice and power of God in and through people today.

This statement of faith has been distilled to the point of irreducible complexity. If anything is removed, then the beliefs stated fall apart. It cannot be made simpler without the destruction of the whole.

Acts 11:26

About tedgriffith

I'm a financial counselor/coach who loves photgraphy.
This entry was posted in Faith, Living Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What does it mean to be a Christian?

  1. C.J. Penn says:

    To me, being Christian means having a faith that propels me to be filled with love, humility, and an overpowering desire to surrender my life TO Jesus; to opened up to the Spirit of Jesus within me, to have Him live within me, live through me.

  2. My Heartsong says:

    Very thoughtful, thank you for sharing the definitions of your faith. Blessings at Christmas and in the new year.

  3. Michael says:

    This sounds nearly verbatim to the Nicene Creed, and other creeds in the various Christian Churches. My belief is much simpler. I believe that Jesus was and is the Son of God, who was sacrificed by God and voluntarily surrendered himself to be crucified and killed. I believe that he died and was resurrected bodily and ascended to Heaven. I believe that by confession of my sins to God, the father and to another person and asking for the forgiveness of my sins that they are forgiven and I become a brother and joint heir of Christ.

    This is all I believe is necessary for anyone to qualify for inclusion in the Christian faith. For example, I have studied the Bible extensively and found no reference to belief in the virgin birth as a requirement to be a Christian. I know for nearly all Christians it is considered an “Article of Faith,” but find it nowhere that disbelief disqualifies anyone for admission into Paradise.

Leave a Reply

